Seeing the 70s, Seeing the World

08Jul08

Sarah Forth ’70 was in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia for Earth Day 2008:

blue ridge mountains virginia

credit: Little River Crossing

The tall oaks, maples and sycamores were still bare, but the grass had greened up–it’s been a wet spring–and clumps of bright yellow daffodils populated the hillsides. The ornamental plum by the drive was covered in pale pink flowers and the forsythia had turned yellow, providing surreal bursts of color against the gray forest backdrop.

Margaret ’71 spent what turned out to be a visually pleasing but ultimately “fractured” (pardon the pun) visit to Fire Island:

credit: Jeff Tidwell

…[A]rrived on Fire Island. Went down to the glorious beach. Let the gentle waves roll over my feet. Neglected to realize that the sand beneath my bare feet would erode and cause me to lose my balance. Down I went, landing hard on my left wrist. Colles fracture…

M.J. ’76 spent some time seeing the best (art!) and worst (weather!) of London:

london rain

credit: urban75.org

My last full day in London served up quintessential English weather. It was dark and pouring when I headed out for the day with the intention of going from museum to museum, spending as little time as possible outdoors or above ground. By the time I reached the Courtauld Gallery at Somerset House, the rain had tapered to mist, and it had stopped by the time I had finished looking at the Impressionist paintings and the Renoir at the Theatre exhibition.

llano texas

credit: Jessie James Real Estate

Molly ’76 hit the water in Llano, Texas:

The first weekend in June means Kayak Trip! With good friends and some clear water, we have a great time! We start below the dam in Llano and head downriver […] My kayak is the blue one, La Chalupa. She’s getting a little banged up on the bottom, as she got dragged over lots of rocks this year.

And a ’78 alum was in Mali celebrating the opening of the Hope Center Clinic (to fight HIV):

mali hope center clinic

credit: Gaiavaccine.org

It was a glorious occasion. There were speeches, there were certificates provided to the women and men who helped found the clinic, and Sophie and I received Chiwaras (antelope sculptures), a sign of the highest recognition in Mali.

2 Responses to “Seeing the 70s, Seeing the World”

  1. Thanks for featuring my blog in the 70s group. The photo of the bus in the rain, however, is from someone else’s blog, not mine. But it is lovely.

  2. 2 sarah

    Thanks for the reminder M.J.— I’ll make the photo credits more obvious!



