Facebook’s Effect on Reunion Attendance

17May11

Brandy ’01 has a post up about whether Facebook and other social media outlets increase or decrease people’s interest in going to Reunion:

NPR ran a story on another reason people aren’t returning for reunions: because of Facebook, people already feel connected enough to the people they want to keep in touch with. This is interesting to me because I feel like Facebook was partly responsible for me WANTING to go to reunion. Seeing a little bit of what people’s lives are like through Facebook was like a teaser for wanting to learn more by seeing them in person. Seeing my classmates’ photos reminded me of how much fun they were to hang out with in person.  And Smith has two great Facebook pages that keep me so connected to the campus that I wanted to experience it in person.

