Smithie in the Huffington Post

16Feb12

Ellie ’05 recently had a column in the Huffington Post, writing about how her close friendships with other women helped her through her cancer treatments:

There’s a post-collegiate period when a girl wonders if she’ll ever make friends like the ones she had on campus. After graduation, I kept busy with work and falling in love, but I missed my old tribe. My therapist gave me a homework assignment: Be open to making new girlfriends. Real ones, like in college, but here where you live. I explained to her that it isn’t that easy. You don’t want to jump into a friendship with just any girl you meet.

Read the rest of “Doctors Saved My Leg, But Girlfriends Saved My Spirit.” Ellie’s own blog is Ellie in LA: Skinny Dipping in the Now.

 

